Skip Navigation

About the Board of Trustees

The Montessori School’s Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing broad policy, goals that align with and advance the school’s mission, vision, and strategic goals. The Board is responsible for the school’s financial stability, establishing and maintaining bylaws that conform to legal requirements, hiring and overseeing the Head of School, and focusing its primary work on long-range, strategic issues. The Board also focuses on the sustainability of these four pillars that are important to the school:
• Community
• Environmental
• Financial
• Program

Trustees serve on one or more of the Board’s standing committees: Committee on Trustees; Finance and its subcommittee, Buildings and Grounds; Development; and the Head’s Advisory Committee. Special or ad hoc committees may be created in any given year. These committees are given a finite lifetime that coincides with the conclusion of their duties. The Board of Trustees is the governing body of The Montessori School. Members have a significant commitment to the school and its welfare. The Board Chair heads the Executive Committee.  

Trustees

Dareus Conover   
dconover@themontessorischool.us   
Committee on Trustees

 

Marjorie Horton   
mhorton@themontessorischool.us   
Head’s Advisory Committee

 

Brittany Shearon / Secretary   
bshearon@themontessorischool.us   
Committee on Trustees

 

Rachel ShearonRachel Shearon / Board Chair   
rshearon@themontessorischool.us   
Development Committee

 

Guangkai Shi   
gshi@themontessorischool.us

 

Ngoc TranNgoc Tran / Treasurer   
tngoc@themontessorischool.us   
Finance Committee; Head’s Advisory Committee

 

Karen Walsh, trusteeKaren Walsh / Chair Emeritus   
kwalsh@themontessorischool.us   
Committee on Trustees; Finance Committee; Head’s Advisory Committee

 

Sue Zaharchuk / Vice Chair   
szaharchuk@themontessorischool.us   
Development Committee; Finance Committee; Head’s Advisory Committee

 

 

Current Openings