Skip Navigation

The Montessori School’s Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing broad policy, goals that align with and advance the school’s mission, vision, and strategic goals. The Board is also responsible for the school’s financial stability, establishing and maintaining bylaws that conform to legal requirements, hiring and overseeing the Head of School, and focusing its primary work on long-range, strategic issues. Currently, our Board is focusing on the sustainability of four pillars important to the school: Environmental, Financial, Program, and Community.

The Board of Trustees is comprised of no less than eight and no more than 22 members. Trustees serve for a three-year term with a limit of three terms. Trustee nominations must be approved by three-fourths of the Board. Trustees meet monthly for board meeting business as well as once a year at the strategic planning retreat.

Trustees also serve on one or more of the Board’s standing committees: Committee on Trustees; Finance and its subcommittee, Buildings and Grounds; Development; and the Head’s Advisory Committee. Special or ad hoc committees may be created in any given year. These committees are given a finite lifetime that coincides with the conclusion of their duties.

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of The Montessori School. Its members have a significant commitment to the school and its welfare. The Chair of the Board heads the Executive Committee.  

TRUSTEES

Karen Walsh, Chair, kwalsh@themontessorischool.us
Committee on Trustees, Head’s Advisory Committee

Sue Zaharchuk, Vice Chair, szaharchuk@themontessorischool.us
Development Committee, Head’s Advisory Committee

Julia Levin ’02, Secretary, jlevin@themontessorischool.us
Committee on Trustees

Kimberly Burke, kburke@themontessorischool.us

Marjorie Horton, mhorton@themontessorischool.us

Shane Koshy, skoshy@themontessorischool.us

Rachel Shearon, rshearon@themontessorischool.us

Ngoc Tran, tngoc@themontessorischool.us

Rashida Welbeck, rwelbeck@themontessorischool.us

Next School Year