School Calendar

IMPORTANT DATES 2017-18

Parents & Teachers Meeting
Tuesday, September 5, 4:00-5:00PM
Classes Begin
Wednesday, September 6
Staff In-Service
Monday, October 16 (NO SCHOOL)
Conferences
Monday, November 20 and Tuesday, November 21 (NO SCHOOL)
Thanksgiving Break
Wednesday, November 22–Friday, November 24 (NO SCHOOL)
School Resumes
Monday, November 27
Winter Break
Wednesday, December 20-Tuesday, January 2 (NO SCHOOL)
School Resumes
Wednesday, January 3
Martin Luther King, Jr Day
Monday, January 15 (NO SCHOOL; MLK Family Day of Service/Morning)
Staff In-Service
Friday, February 16 (NO SCHOOL)
Presidents’ Day
Monday, February 19 (NO SCHOOL)
Conferences
Thursday, March 22 and Friday, March 23 (NO SCHOOL)
Spring Break
Monday, March 26-Friday, March 30 (NO SCHOOL)
School Resumes
Monday, April 2
Memorial Day
Monday, May 28 (NO SCHOOL)
Last Day of School Toddler & Children's House
Wednesday, June 6
Last Day of School Elementary / Sixth Grade Graduation
Thursday, June 7

SCHOOL TRADITIONS & EVENTS

Parents & Teachers Meeting
Just before school begins, classroom guides share information with parents about classroom routines and school “nuts and bolts”. Parents receive school materials and can ask questions about the curriculum. (Adults only.)

Toddler Tea
Over the course of the year, parents of toddlers are invited to meet with the Toddler Guides to learn about the Toddler program and learn more about raising Toddlers.

Fall Festival
In October, families come together for an afternoon of food, fun and fall activities for children.

Journey and Discovery
Each autumn, TMS offers a Montessori experience unique to parents. Attendance is a requirement for all parents new to our community. It is also offered as a refresher to returning parents. Its focus on the Montessori environment helps in demonstrating how learning is structured in our classrooms. (Adults only.)

Book Fair
The Book Fair is held at our local Barnes & Noble in the fall. Parents are encouraged to attend the performances by Elementary children and any guest readers. Purchases made, either at the store or online, go to benefit the TMS Library. All school families are invited.

Picture Day
Every year, a professional photographer comes to photograph children individually and their classes.

Global Celebration
In the winter, an evening is set aside at TMS to celebrate our international community through food and entertainment. Families are encouraged to dress in their national styles and bring their favorite food.

Special Persons’ Days
Three days are reserved each year for the purpose of inviting grandparents, aunts or uncles and other special friends to visit their Kindergarteners in Children’s House, Lower Elementary or Upper Elementary grandchildren (or nieces or nephews). The adult guests are invited to be in the classrooms at TMS, meet Guides and learn more about the Montessori method.

Bingo Night
Ever-popular with the children and run by the Sixth Graders, Bingo Night is a family-fun event of bingo, food, raffles and prizes.

School Performance
The Upper Elementary students provide entertainment in the form of a play or musical for school families and guests each spring. Other Elementary performances by are held informally throughout the year in response to the curriculum.

Spring Social & Auction
Our biggest fundraiser event, the Spring Social & Auction provides a fun way to socialize with other parents. Don’t miss this opportunity for good food, music, and to bid on great auction items to benefit TMS. Adults only.

End-of-the-Year Picnic
All families are invited for a picnic outdoors. Students and families have an opportunity to celebrate another great school year!

Color Day
Scheduled for the outdoors in late spring, Color Day is for the enjoyment of fun, age-appropriate activities. The morning is filled with activities to challenge Elementary students while practicing teamwork and problem-solving skills.

Sixth Grade Graduation
In June, the Board of Trustees, faculty/staff, school families and guests of sixth graders attend a ceremony that marks the culmination of the sixth grade experience at TMS. The Kevin Wallace and Arnold Frank Zeleznik Citizenship awards are also presented.